Cart 0
Monteverdi: Selva morale e spirituale Volume II

Monteverdi: Selva morale e spirituale Volume II



Without doubt, Monteverdi was the greatest of the early baroque European composers. He revolutionised the music of the theatre and the church by his dramatic and imaginative use of voices and instruments and by his daring harmonies and rhythms. Next to his Vespers of 1610, the Selva morale e spirituale of 1641 is his most significant and virtuosic collection of sacred music. The works featured on this second volume are both demanding and exhilarating: from the rhythmic vitality of the eight-part Dixit Dominus to the relative simplicity of the full choir’s rendering of his old style Messa à 4 da cappella, and culminating in the extraordinary bass solo, Ab aeterno ordinata sum.

The Sixteen
Harry Christophers

'This is another fine volume in The Sixteen's survey of the 
Selva morale e spirituale.' International Record Review

'And there is much variety and interest - the delightful solo singing in Sanctorum meritis I, the fine chromatic tuning of the choir in the Crucifixus, the tasteful violin decorations in Deus tuorum II, the reverent tone in Agnus Dei, and the ingenious accompaniments in Jubilet tota civitas.'  BBC Music Magazine★★★★ 


Track Listing:

Claudio Monteverdi (1567-1643)
1. Laudate Dominum (Terzo)
2. Confitebor tibi Domine (Primo)
3. O ciechi, ciechi
4. Jubilet tota civitas
5. Kyrie from Messa à 4 da cappella
6. Gloria from Messa à 4 da cappella
7. Deus tuorum militum (Secondo)
8. Credo from Messa à 4 da cappella
9. Sanctorum meritis (Primo)
10. Sanctus from Messa à 4 da cappella
11. Benedictus from Messa à 4 da cappella
12. Agnus Dei from Messa à 4 da cappella
13. Crucifixus
14. Laudate Dominum in sanctis eius
15. Et iterum venturus est
16. Ab aeterno ordinata sum
17. Dixit Dominus (Primo)



Share this Product

More from this collection