BREXIT: EU / EEA CUSTOMERS – Please see our Terms and Conditions below for important information on EU shipments. PLEASE NOTE: Due to customs changes we can no longer ship to GERMANY.

A Ceremony of Carols: Britten Choral Works Volume II. Album by The Sixteen

A Ceremony of Carols: Britten Choral Works Volume II. Album by The Sixteen

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price

Album Description

Winner Deutsche Schallplattenkritik

Britten's A Ceremony of Carols is a masterpiece composed on board ship as Britten returned to England from the U.S.A. in 1942, a touching evocation of boyhood lost but never forgotten. A Boy was Born is a work that first made Britten famous, based on a theme and variations of astonishing ingenuity. The Missa Brevis, written for the boys of Westminster Cathedral, is a gem that in some ways looks forward to the War Requiem which came two years later.


The Sixteen
Harry Christophers

Track Listing

Benjamin Britten (1913-1976)

A Ceremony of Carols
1. Procession 
2. Wolcum Yole! 
3. There is no Rose 
4. That yongë child
5. Balulalow
6. As dew in Aprille
7. This little Babe 
8. Interlude 
9. In freezing winter night 
10. Spring Carol 
11. Deo Gracias! 
12. Recession 

13. A Shepherd's Carol 

14. The Sycamore Tree

15. Sweet was the Song 

Missa Brevis in D 
16. Kyrie
17. Gloria 
18. Sanctus/Benedictus 
19. Agnus Dei 

A Boy was Born (with the Choristers of St. Paul's Cathedral - Director: John Scott) 
20. Theme 
21. Variation I: Lullay, Jesu 
22. Variation II: Herod 
23. Variation III: Jesu, as Thou art
24. Variation IV: The Three Kings 
25. Variation V: In the Bleak Mid-Winter
26. Variation VI: Noel!