BREXIT: EU / EEA CUSTOMERS – Please see our Terms and Conditions below for important information on EU shipments. PLEASE NOTE: Due to customs changes we can no longer ship to GERMANY.

An Old Belief. Album by The Sixteen

An Old Belief. Album by The Sixteen

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price

Album Description

All of the music from The Choral Pilgrimage 2022

An Old Belief introduces Hubert Parry's emotional and heartfelt Songs of Farewell, which surely rank among some of the finest choral works ever written. Deeply affected by the First World War, Parry sought poetry that would reflect not only peace and unity and the search for a better world, but also an escape from the horrors of war. The poems Parry chose to set are sublime, be they metaphysical poetry by John Donne and Henry Vaughan or the aching beauty of Thomas Campion’s verse. Perfectly complimenting the rich sonority of Parry’s Songs are three short pieces by Campion, a selection of medieval carols and a new work by award-winning composer Cecilia McDowall.

In 2022 The Sixteen’s Choral Pilgrimage, entitled ‘An Old Belief’ and featuring all of the music from this album, will visit 25 towns and cities across the UK including London, Oxford, Cambridge, York, Manchester, Cardiff and Edinburgh. Click here for dates and locations.


The Sixteen
Harry Christophers

Behind the Scenes

Track Listing

Medieval Carol               
1. Deo gracias, Anglia            

Thomas Campion                           
2. Author of light                              

Herbert Howells                       
3. Take him, earth for cherishing 

Medieval Carol               
4. Saint Thomas honour we  

Cecilia McDowall    
5. An unexpected shore *                   

Thomas Campion                          
6. Never weather-beaten sail  

Medieval Carol               
7. Benedicite Deo                          

Thomas Campion                          
8. Tune thy music to thy heart   

Medieval Carol               
9. O blessed Lord     

Hubert Parry     
10-15. Songs of Farewell  

Total Run Time: 76.03

* commissioned by Geoffrey Smeed for the City Chamber Choir and its conductor, Stephen Jones