BREXIT: EU / EEA CUSTOMERS – Please see our Terms and Conditions below for important information on EU shipments. PLEASE NOTE: Due to customs changes we can no longer ship to GERMANY.

Buxtehude: Membra Jesu Nostri. Album by The Sixteen

Buxtehude: Membra Jesu Nostri. Album by The Sixteen

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price

Album Description

Buxtehude’s cantata cycle, Membra Jesu Nostri, is a unique work. Based on texts from a medieval Latin hymn, ‘Salve mundi salutare’, the cycle contains seven cantatas each dedicated to a different part of Christ’s crucified body. The texts are based on the concept of an observer contemplating Christ’s body on the cross starting with his feet and moving up to his knees, hands, side, breast, heart and finally his head. Buxtehude plays cleverly with musical colours and textures and changes the mixture of voices and instruments to dramatic effect as the work develops.

Originally released on Linn Records.


Carolyn Sampson
Libby Crabtree
Robin Blaze
James Gilchrist
Simon Birchall 

The Sixteen
Harry Christophers

Track Listing

Dietrich Buxtehude (c.1637-1707)
Membra Jesu Nostri
1 - 6     Cantata I: Ad pedes (To the feet)
7 - 12   Cantata II: Ad genua (To the knees)
13 - 18 Cantata III: Ad manus (To the hands)
19 - 24 Cantata IV: Ad latus (To the side)
25 - 30 Cantata V: Ad pectus (To the breast)
31 - 36 Cantata VI: Ad cor (To the heart)
37 - 42 Cantata VII: Ad faciem (To the face)