Cart 0
Renaissance Portugal: The Sacred Music of Cardoso and Lôbo

Renaissance Portugal: The Sacred Music of Cardoso and Lôbo



Portuguese sacred music of this period inhabits a distinctive sound world that can be seen as a continuation and development of the Spanish style of composers such as Morales and Guerrero, but it is often allied to a tantalizing harmonic richness and colour that is found nowhere else. Its individuality parallels the new and astonishing Manueline architecture in which much of it would have been performed.

The Sixteen
Harry Christophers

'...a performance of deeply searching spirituality, paced intelligently, as is everything by this choir's director, Harry Christophers'  The Times

Track Listing:

Manuel Cardoso (1566-1650)
1. Sitivit anima mea 
2. Tulerunt lapides 
3. Non mortui  

Missa Regina Caeli
4. Kyrie
5. Gloria
6. Credo
7. Sanctus / Benedictus
8. Agnus Dei

Duarte Lôbo (c.1565-1646)

9. Audivi vocem de caelo 
10. Pater peccavi 

Missa Pro Defunctis a 8
11. Introitus 
12. Kyrie 
13. Graduale 
14. Offertorium 
15. Sanctus/Benedictus 
16. Agnus Dei 
17. Lux aeterna 



Share this Product

More from this collection