BREXIT: EU / EEA CUSTOMERS – Please see our Terms and Conditions below for important information on EU shipments. PLEASE NOTE: Due to customs changes we can no longer ship to GERMANY.

Fen and Meadow: Britten Choral Works Volume III. Album by The Sixteen

Fen and Meadow: Britten Choral Works Volume III. Album by The Sixteen

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price

Benjamin Britten - Choral Works III

These works show some of the breadth and range of Britten's choral writing, embracing the masque from his opera Gloriana, his own take on the English part song tradition in Five Flower Songs, and his last work for unaccompanied voices, Sacred and Profane. The latter sets medieval texts described herein as 'a mixture of the devotional and the rumbustiously secular'.

Ian Partridge
The Sixteen
Harry Christophers

Track Listing:

Benjamin Britten (1913-1976)
Choral Dances from 'Gloriana'
1. The Masque begins 
2. First Dance: Time
3. Second Dance: Concord
4. Third Dance: Time and Concord 
5. Fourth Dance: Country Girls
6. Fifth Dance: Rustics and Fishermen
7. Sixth Dance: Final Dance of Homage 

8. Advance Democracy

9. The Ballad of Little Musgrave and Lady Barnard

10. A Wedding Anthem 

Five Flower Songs
11. To Daffodils 
12. The Succession of the Four Sweet Months 
13. Marsh Flowers 
14. The Evening Primrose 
15. Ballad of Green Broom 

16. St Godric's Hymn 
17. I mon waxe wod 
18. Lenten is come 
19. The long night 
20. Yif ic of luve can 
21. Carol 
22. Ye that pasen by
23. A death