Cart 0
Frank Martin. Album by The Sixteen

Frank Martin. Album by The Sixteen



Album Description

Winner of a Diapason d'Or award

Frank Martin was arguably Switzerland’s greatest composer.  His shimmering Mass for Double Choir, completed in 1926 as ‘an affair between God and himself’, is one of the finest settings of the 20th century, yet it had to wait forty-one years to be shared with others in its first performance. This collection of his choral music also includes his cantata for Switzerland’s National Day and the Ode to Music, along with some charming part-songs. Eclectic and technically superb these pieces display a style that is serenely individual.


The Sixteen
Harry Christophers


'Frank Martin has always belonged to the elite of the musical world due solely to his creative genius, nurtured by the silent meditation in his work and by the fervour of his faith.Pierre Fournier

'...a marvellous demonstration of Martin’s gifts as a composer of vocal music.BBC Music Magazine

Track Listing

Frank Martin (1890-1974)
1. Cantate pour le 1er Août

Chansons (1944)
2. Janeton 
3. Petite église 
4. Si Charlotte avait voulu

Songs of Ariel
5. Come unto these yellow sands 
6. Full fathom five 
7. Before you can say 
8. You are three men of sin 
9. Where the bee sucks

Chansons (1931)
10. Sonnet 
11. Le coucou 
12. Ode 
13. Le petit village
14. Ode à la Musique

Mass for Double Choir
15. Kyrie eleison 
16. Gloria 
17. Credo 
18. Sanctus 
19. Benedictus
20. Agnus Dei



Share this Product

More from this collection