BREXIT: EU / EEA CUSTOMERS – Please see our Terms and Conditions below for important information on EU shipments. PLEASE NOTE: Due to customs changes we can no longer ship to GERMANY.

Grzegorz Gerwazy Gorczycki. Album by The Sixteen

Grzegorz Gerwazy Gorczycki. Album by The Sixteen

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price

Album Description

The third disc in The Sixteen’s acclaimed series of Polish music, conducted by Associate Conductor, Eamonn Dougan, explores the work of Grzegorz Gerwazy Gorczycki (1665–1734). Regarded as the outstanding Polish composer of the high baroque, Gorczycki studied in Prague and Vienna in his early years and returned to Kraków in 1690 where he took holy orders. He was appointed Magister capellae at Wawel Cathedral in 1698, a position he held until his death.

Like his predecessor Bartłomiej Pękiel (COR16110), Gorczycki wrote in both 'stile antico' and 'stile moderno'; the works featured in this recording display his skill in both genres. The Missa Rorate shows his mastery of counterpoint and sensitivity to word-setting, as does Illuxit Sol in which Gorczycki revels in the rhetoric of the text, painting it with lush five-part string writing; Conductus Funebris, a four-movement work setting text from the Burial Service, marries his contrapuntal skills with a more emphatic, declamatory style, while in the Litania de Providentia Divinae, Gorczycki unleashes the full power of his invention as he paints the virtues of "Divine Providence" with a glowing palette of colours.


The Sixteen
Eamonn Dougan

Track Listing

Grzegorz Gerwazy Gorczycki (1665-1734)

1. Hejnał mariacki (Anon.)
2. In virtute tua Domine
3. O Rex gloriae, Domine
4. Illuxit sol

Missa Rorate
5. Introit (II)
6. Kyrie
7. Gloria
8. Gradual
9. Alleluia
10. Offertory
11. Sanctus
12. Benedictus
13. Agnus Dei
14. Communio

Conductus funebris
15. Subvenite Sancti Dei
16. Libera me, Domine
17. In paradisum
18. Salve Regina

19. Sepulto Domino
20. Litania de Providentia Divina