BREXIT: EU / EEA CUSTOMERS – Please see our Terms and Conditions below for important information on shipments.

Hail, Mother of the Redeemer. Album by The Sixteen

Hail, Mother of the Redeemer. Album by The Sixteen

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price

Album Description

The Record Academy Award Winner

All the music from the Choral Pilgrimage 2011

The long-established tradition of devotion to the Virgin Mary resulted in some superb settings from Spanish composers. Tomás Luis de Victoria was, quite possibly, the most outstanding composer of the Renaissance and this recording features a tantalizing selection of the sumptuous music he wrote in honour of the Virgin Mary, including some of his exquisite Marian motets and the glorious Missa Alma Redemptoris Mater.


The Sixteen
Harry Christophers


'Victoria could apply himself equally to the sublime contemplation of Sancta Maria and to the jubilant fervour of the Magnificat, a range of expression that the Sixteen embraces.' The Telegraph ★★★★ 

'This is state-of-the-art Renaissance singing by a choir and conductor who have done more than most to deepen our awareness, and enjoyment, of music created in an ancient world few of us can understand.' Classic FM ★★★★

'Christophers shows how qualities we associate with Romanticism – impulse and abandon – can be the best guide to performing early music as well. In the booklet notes he declares Victoria to have been the ‘greatest composer of the Renaissance’. Listening to this may convince you.' BBC Music Magazine ★★★★ 

'A more worthy tribute to this truly great composer is difficult to imagine.' International Record Review

'This disc celebrates the 400th anniversary of Victoria’s death with a high majesty and temperature well suited to the occasion.' Gramophone

Track Listing

Tomás Luis de Victoria (1548-1611)
1. Salve Regina a 5
2. Alma Redemptoris Mater a 5
3. Congratulamini mihi a 6
4. Sancta Maria
5. Gaude Maria

6. Kyrie
7. Gloria
8. Credo
9. Sanctus and Benedictus
10. Agnus Dei

11. Hymn: Ave maris stella
12. Magnificat octavi toni
13. Regina caeli a 5
14. Ne timeas Maria
15. Litaniae Beatae Mariae a 8