BREXIT: EU / EEA CUSTOMERS – Please see our Terms and Conditions below for important information on EU shipments. PLEASE NOTE: Due to customs changes we can no longer ship to GERMANY.

Ikon of Light: Special Commemorative Edition. Album by The Sixteen

Ikon of Light: Special Commemorative Edition. Album by The Sixteen

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price

Album Description

Re-issue of COR16015 Ikon of Light with a newly commissioned booklet essay

'I consider 
Ikon of Light to be one of my most important works…  I recall the splendour and magic of the sound of The Sixteen at the recording, and in particular, at hearing them sing Eonia for the first time. Heartfelt thanks to Harry Christophers and The Sixteen.'  Sir John Tavener

Sir John Tavener was one of Britain’s leading composers of the last 50 years. To commemorate his extraordinary life and works The Sixteen is re-releasing its acclaimed recording Ikon of Light in a special limited edition slip-cased version with a newly commissioned booklet essay. 

The album was originally conceived for Sir John’s 50th birthday and covers a wide range of his celebrated choral output including Eonia, which Sir John especially requested The Sixteen record, alongside Ikon of Light, The Lamb and The Tyger. 


The Sixteen
Harry Christophers 

Track Listing

John Tavener (1944-2013)

1. A Hymn to the Mother of God 
2. Hymn for the Dormition of the Mother of God 
3. The Lamb 
4. The Tyger 

Ikon of Light:
5. Movement 1 - Fos I, Doxa
6. Movement 2 - Doxa (piu intensita)
7. Movement 3 - Trisagion I
Mystic Prayer to the Holy Spirit
8. Movement 4a 
9. Movement 4b 
10. Movement 4c 
11. Movement 4d 
12. Movement 4e 
13. Movement 5 - Trisagion II 
14. Movement 6 - Fos II 
15. Movement 7 - Epiphania

16. Today the Virgin 
17. Eonia