J.S. Bach: Organ Works Vol. III | Robert Quinney – The Sixteen

BREXIT: EU / EEA CUSTOMERS – Please see our Terms and Conditions below for important information on shipments.

Cart 0
J.S. Bach: Organ Works Vol. III. Album by Robert Quinney

J.S. Bach: Organ Works Vol. III. Album by Robert Quinney



Album Description

Following two highly acclaimed recordings, CORO is delighted to be releasing its third album with one of The Sixteen Orchestra’s principal members - organist Robert Quinney. This new album was recorded at Trinity College, Cambridge, on the beautiful Metzler Organ, and features as its centrepiece the wonderful Einige Canonische Veränderungen über das Weynachts-Lied ‘Vom Himmel hoch da komm ich her’ (BWV 769a). These wonderful festive variations, which are full of passionate vitality and poetical feeling, are accompanied by a selection of preludes and fugues.

Robert Quinney is Director of the choir of New College, Oxford, and was until recently Sub-Organist at Westminster Abbey and Director of Music at Peterborough Cathedral.


Robert Quinney


'...it's just joyous!' BBC Radio 3 CD Review

'Do try to hear this fine recording.' Cathedral Music

'This is as good as it gets, and the playing has that effortless feel about it which is combined with highly suitable instrument and very skilled recording technique to produce a most satisfying CD.... This is the best performance of BWV 769 on CD that I know.' Early Music Review

Track Listing:

J.S. Bach (1685-1750)

Fantasia and Fugue in G minor BWV 542
1. Fantasia
2. Fugue

Three preludes on Nun Komm, der Heiden Heiland BWV 659-661
3. à 2 Clav. et Ped. BWV 659
4. à due bassi e canto fermo BWV 660
5. in Organo pleno - Canto fermo in Pedal BWV 661

Pastorella BWV 590
6. [Prelude]
7. [Allemande]
8. [Aria]
9. [Gigue]

Prelude and Fugue in C BWV 547
10. Prelude
11. Fugue

Einige Canonische Veränderungen über das Weynachts-Lied Vom Himmel hoch, da komm ich her BWV 769a
12. Canone all'ottava (Canon at the octave)
13. Canone alla Quinta (Canon at the fifth)
14. Canto fermo in Canone (Cantus Firmus canon)
15. Canone alla Settima, Cantabile (Canon at the seventh)
16. Canon per augmentationem (Augmentation canon)

Prelude and Fugue in G BWV 541
17. Prelude
18. Fugue

Total playing time  1hr 16 mins


Share this Product

More from this collection