Monteverdi: Messa a quattro voci et salmi of 1650 Vol 2 – The Sixteen

BREXIT: EU / EEA CUSTOMERS – Please see our Terms and Conditions below for important information on shipments.

Cart 0
Monteverdo: Messa a quattro Volume 2 cover showing 'Angel Musician', a 15th Century fresco by Melozzo da Forli

Monteverdi: Messa a quattro voci et salmi of 1650 Volume II. Album by The Sixteen



Album Description

Monteverdi’s sacred vocal compositions introduced the expression of powerful and personal emotions to the world of church music. Whilst it took him a number of years to find fulfillment in his work, Monteverdi was a revered composer within his lifetime and his music is regarded as revolutionary, marking the change from the Renaissance style to that of the Baroque. This album includes some of the finest works from Monteverdi’s years as director of music at St Mark’s in Venice, published posthumously in 1650 as the Messa a quattro voci et salmi.

Monteverdi: Messa a quattro voci et salmi Volume I


The Sixteen
Harry Christophers


'The sound product follows the high level of the interpretation, with a good balance between voices, and between the vocal and instrumental formations... this is another beautiful contribution that seduces the high calibre quality of work that Harry Christophers and The Sixteen have carried out over the last four decades.' Xpressing Music 

Track Listing:

Claudio Monteverdi (1567-1643)
1. Dixit Dominus (Secondo) a 8 

Francesco Cavalli (1602-76)
2. Salve Regina

3. Laetatus sum a 5 instrumenti & 6 voci

Monteverdi: Messa a quattro voci
4. Kyrie
5. Gloria

6. Laudate Dominum a due bassi 

Monteverdi: Messa a quattro voci
7. Credo
8. Sanctus
9. Benedictus
10. Agnus Dei

Alessandro Piccinini (1566-c.1638)
11. Ciaccona in G major

12. Confitebor tibi Domine (Primo)
13. Lauda Jerusalem a 5
14. Nisi Dominus a 6

Total running time:  67.23

Share this Product

More from this collection