BREXIT: EU / EEA CUSTOMERS – Please see our Terms and Conditions below for important information on EU shipments. PLEASE NOTE: Due to customs changes we can no longer ship to GERMANY.

Mozart: Requiem. Album by the Handel and Haydn Society

Mozart: Requiem. Album by the Handel and Haydn Society

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price

Following the success of the Mozart Mass in C minor last year, CORO is delighted to announce the release of its second recording with Harry Christophers and the Handel and Haydn Society.

Mozart’s final moments are reflected through this masterpiece of drama, intensity and depth. The mysterious circumstances surrounding the Requiem’s commission (delivered by a ‘messenger in black’ who refused to reveal the identity of the person who had sent him), and the fact it was left incomplete by a dying Mozart, have ensured a continued fascination with the work. Completed by Mozart’s colleague Süssmayr in 1792, the Requiem is one of Mozart’s most popular and enduring works and one of the most enigmatic pieces of music ever composed.  

The CD also features Mozart’s Ave verum corpus and the first recording on period instruments of his concert aria Per questa bella mano for bass voice and solo double bass obligato—a piece famous for its fiendishly difficult double bass part, performed superbly on this recording by Robert Nairn.

Elizabeth Watts: soprano
Phyllis Pancella: mezzo-soprano
Andrew Kennedy: tenor
Eric Owens: bass
Robert Nairn: double bass
Handel and Haydn Society
Harry Christophers


Track Listing:

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
1. Ave verum corpus, K618   

Requiem, K626
2. Introitus: Requiem      
3. Kyrie 
4. Dies irae  
5. Tuba mirum    
6. Rex tremendae 
7. Recordare     
8. Confutatis    
9. Lacrimosa    
10. Domine Jesu  
11. Hostias      
12. Sanctus         
13. Benedictus  
14. Agnus Dei      
15. Communio: Lux aeterna       

16. Commentary From Robert Nairn 

17. Per questa bella mano, K612