BREXIT: EU / EEA CUSTOMERS – Please see our Terms and Conditions below for important information on shipments.

O Guiding Night: The Spanish Mystics. Album by The Sixteen

O Guiding Night: The Spanish Mystics. Album by The Sixteen

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price

Album Description

The Spanish Mystics were major figures in the Catholic Reformation in Spain during the 16th and 17th centuries. Their attempts to express in words their experience of a mystical communion with Christ produced some exquisite poetry and writings which went on to influence and shape the Spanish language.

O Guiding night is the fascinating result of The Sixteen’s second major collaboration with the Genesis Foundation and features six new works by Tarik O’Regan, Roderick Williams and Ruth Byrchmore, all inspired by the poetry of two principals of The Spanish Mystics movement - St. Teresa of Ávila and St. John of the Cross.


The Sixteen
Harry Christophers


'The bright future of music. The choice of composers and their responses to these mystical texts prove inspired...Thanks to the visceral commitment of Harry Christophers and his choir, and the refulgent beauty of the music, the listener will connect body and soul with these sensuous performances... I've already added O Guiding Night to my long list of desert island discs.'  Classic FM ★★★★★ - Editor's Choice

'Harry Christophers and The Sixteen nail it expertly.
BBC Music Magazine Performance ★★★★  Recording ★★★★★

'If John Tavener has enjoyed a monopoly of mystical music for the last 20 years, here are serious challenges... A fascinating project: the same three texts set by three different composers but all mesmerized by this poetry's ecstatic conjunction of agape and eros, love sacred and love profane.Choir & Organ ★★★★

Track Listing

Tarik O’Regan (b.1978-)
1. fleeting, God*

Ruth Byrchmore (b.1966-)
2. The Dark Night*

3. O vera digna hostia

Roderick Williams (b.1965-)
4. O Guiding Night*

5. Prayer of St. Teresa of Ávila*

6. Beloved, all things ceased*

7. Let nothing trouble you*

8. A Birthday

9. O Adonai


* Commissioned by Genesis Foundation