BREXIT: EU / EEA CUSTOMERS – Please see our Terms and Conditions below for important information on EU shipments. PLEASE NOTE: Due to customs changes we can no longer ship to GERMANY.

Palestrina Volume 6. Album by The Sixteen

Palestrina Volume 6. Album by The Sixteen

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price

Album Description

The Sixteen continues its acclaimed series of discs exploring the work of Italian Renaissance master, Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina. An enormous body of sacred works, including over 100 Masses, rightly earned Palestrina the title of ‘the prince and father of music’ and ‘the saviour of church music’. His legacy has had an impact on sacred music worldwide for over 400 years and composers throughout the centuries have studied and learned from his gift of writing exquisite polyphony.

Central to this sixth disc is Palestrina’s unjustly neglected 5-voice L’Homme armé Mass. Written before 1570, it is no mere technical showpiece, but contains music of the highest quality. It is accompanied on this disc by a group of penitential and devotional motets and Offertories on well known texts such as Parce mihi Domine, Si ambulavero in medio tribulationis, De profundis, and Super flumina Babylonis, eliciting from Palestrina his best and most moving music. Three further Song of Songs motets in The Sixteen’s ongoing survey complete the CD.


The Sixteen
Harry Christophers

Track Listing:

Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina (1525-1594)

1. Parce mihi, Domine
2. Peccantem me quotidie
3. Si ambulavero in medio tribulationis
4. Tribulationis civitatam audivimis
5. Super flumina Babylonis

Song of Songs Nos. 16-18
6. Surge amica mea
7. Dilectus meus mihi
8. Surgam et circuibo civitatem

9. De profundis clamavi

Missa L'Homme armé
10. Kyrie
11. Gloria
12. Credo
13. Sanctus
14. Benedictus
15. Agnus Dei I & II

16. Tribularer si nescirem