Palestrina Volume 7 | The Sixteen

BREXIT: EU / EEA CUSTOMERS – Please see our Terms and Conditions below for important information on shipments.

Cart 0
Palestrina Volume 7. Album by The Sixteen

Palestrina Volume 7. Album by The Sixteen



Album Description

Palestrina is perhaps the most famous of all Renaissance composers, certainly by name. By the time of his death his reputation outshone all others. His musical legacy is prodigious even by the standards of the time—he wrote over 100 masses—and he was the first Renaissance composer to have a complete edition of almost his whole output published in modern notation.

Today some pieces are quite familiar, others less so and much of his superb music is almost unknown. The seventh recording in The Sixteen’s celebrated series focuses on some of the pivotal women in Christian history - Mary the Mother of Jesus, Mary Magdalene, St Barbara and Susannah.


The Sixteen
Harry Christophers 


'A radiant new album, I got lost in it for an hour or so earlier today.'  BBC Radio 3 (In Tune, Clemency Burton-Hill)

'As always with The Sixteen we get a warm, confident, and atmospheric sound.' BBC Music Magazine

'Christophers moulds this heavenly music with masterly attention to shape, form and nuance...'  The Scotsman

Track Listing:

Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina (1525-1594)

1. Angelus Domini descendit

2. Ave maris stella

3. In diebus illis

4. Beatae Mariae Magdalenae

5. Beata Barbara

Song of Songs, nos. 19-21
6. Adiuro vos filae Ierusalem
7. Caput eius aureum optimum
8. Dilectus meus descendit in hortum suum

9. Susanna ab improbis senibus

10. Veni sponsa Christi

Missa Ave Regina caelorum
11. Kyrie
12. Gloria
13. Credo
14. Sanctus
15. Benedictus
16. Agnus Dei I & II

Total Running Time:   72.01 

Share this Product

More from this collection