BREXIT: EU / EEA CUSTOMERS – Please see our Terms and Conditions below for important information on EU shipments. PLEASE NOTE: Due to customs changes we can no longer ship to GERMANY.

Song of the Nativity. Album by The Sixteen

Song of the Nativity. Album by The Sixteen

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price

Album Description

The Sixteen contrasts the dramatic intensity of music by some of today’s most admired composers with such traditional and modern carols as Boris Ord’s Adam lay ybounden and Henry Walford Davies’ version of O little town of Bethlehem. Much-loved modern classics including John Rutter’s There is a flower, Morten Lauridsen’s O magnum mysterium and James MacMillan’s O radiant dawn also appear on this beautiful album and there are many others which, in the course of time, will also become classics; every one of them by their unashamed simplicity, captures the joy and sincerity of this most wonderful of seasons. This album provides a perfect peaceful and uplifting antidote to the hectic pre-Christmas rush. 


The Sixteen
Harry Christophers

Track Listing:

Morten Lauridsen (b.1943)
1. O magnum mysterium

Howard Skempton (b.1947)
2. Adam lay ybounden

3. The Saviour's work

Gabriel Jackson (b.1962)
4. The Christ-child

Peter Warlock (1894-1930)
5. Bethlehem Down

6. A Gallery Carol

Will Todd (b.1970)
7. My Lord has come

John Ireland (1879-1962)
8. The Holy Boy

Henry Walford Davies (1869-1941)
9. O little town of Bethlehem

John Gardner (1917-2011)
10. When Christ was born of Mary free

Cecilia McDowall (b.1951)
11. Now may we singen

12. Children's Song of the Nativity

Boris Ord (1897-1961)
13. Adam lay ybounden

Alec Roth (b.1948)
14. Song of the Shepherds

15. Somerset Carol

Bob Chilcott (b.1955)
16. The Shepherd's Carol

17. This endris night

John Rutter (b.1945)
18. There is a flower

19. Christmas Eve

Alan Bullard (b.1947)
20. And all the stars looked down

21. Dutch Carol

James MacMillan (b.1959)
22. O radiant dawn

Total playing time:  73.58