BREXIT: EU / EEA CUSTOMERS – Please see our Terms and Conditions below for important information on EU shipments. PLEASE NOTE: Due to customs changes we can no longer ship to GERMANY.

Streams of Tears. Album by The Sixteen

Streams of Tears. Album by The Sixteen

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price

Album Description

Padilla is symbolic of an age. One of the most important composers of the ‘New World’, Padilla was a native of Spain who emigrated to Mexico at a time when the church had money as well as a great appreciation of art in the service of the church. Streams of Tears reflects not only the penitential nature of this music but also a period in history know as the ‘Siglo de Oro’ when Spain and Portugal were masters of the great ocean and in the process of discovering and developing new lands in the Americas. The music of the period is as varied as it is distinctive, with a harmonic richness and colour that is found nowhere else.


The Sixteen
Harry Christophers

Track Listing

Gutiérrez de Padilla (c.1590-1664)
1. Deus in adiutorium 
2. Mirabilia testimonia tua 
3. Stabat Mater 
4. Transfige, dulcissime Domine 
5. Lamentations 
6. Tristis est anima mea 
7. Versa est in luctum 

Missa Ave Regina caelorum
8. Kyrie 
9. Gloria 
10. Credo 
11. Sanctus 

12. Pater peccavi 
13. Salve Regina 
14 Ave Regina caelorum