BREXIT: EU / EEA CUSTOMERS – Please see our Terms and Conditions below for important information on shipments.

The Deer's Cry. Album by The Sixteen

The Deer's Cry. Album by The Sixteen

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price

Album description

The Choral Pilgrimage 2016

Whilst coming from very different eras, William Byrd and Arvo Pärt are both considered masters of sacred music despite having faced considerable persecution for their work. This programme presents six of William Byrd’s works from the Cantiones Sacrae including the monumental Tribue, Domine, and the mighty eight-voice motet Ad Dominum cum tribularer. The three works by Arvo Pärt speak in his unmistakable voice, with its unique blend of ancient and modern, and include his mesmerising Nunc dimittis which is crafted in his bell-like ‘tinitinnabuli’ style.


The Sixteen
Harry Christophers

Behind-the-Scenes video


'Music and singing of hypnotic beauty.'The Times

'the whole programme was spine-shiveringly radiant from first to last.' The Times (on The Deer's Cry concert in St Albans, 9 April 2016)

'The sum of this Choral Pilgrimage's parts is consort singing at its best.' The Telegraph (on The Deer's Cry concert in St John's College Chapel, 8 April 2016)

'Their [Pärt and Byrd's] choral writing has a simplicity and intensity, perfectly suited to the blended sound of The Sixteen.'  The Guardian

'These performances are well-nigh flawless. But the subtlety, the range, the juxtapositions of timbre are mesmerising.' Bachtrack

'The Sixteen's performance combines a scrupulous accuracy with a pregnant sense of ritual and contemplative mystery.' BBC Music Magazine

Track Listing

William Byrd (c.1540-1623)
1. Diliges Dominum
2. Christe qui lux es et dies

Arvo Pärt (b.1935)
3. The Deer’s Cry

4. Emendemus in melius    

5. The Woman with the Alabaster Box  

6. Miserere mihi, Domine       
7. Ad Dominum cum tribularer      

Thomas Tallis (c.1505-85) / Byrd
8. Miserere nostri

9. When Jesus went

10. O lux beata Trinitas

11. Nunc dimittis

12. Laetentur coeli
13. Tribue, Domine

Total running time:  67 minutes