BREXIT: EU / EEA CUSTOMERS – Please see our Terms and Conditions below for important information on shipments.

Venetian Treasures. Album by The Sixteen

Venetian Treasures. Album by The Sixteen

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price

Album Description

The sacred choral music of the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries from Venice, especially that written for the splendour of St Mark’s, has a unique style. From the rich and sonorous sound world of the Gabrielis to the airy zestfulness of Caldara’s contemporary Vivaldi, this was music which dazzled the rest of Europe.


The Sixteen
Harry Christophers


'…this programme forms a rich, satisfying sequence, an effect heightened by the Sixteen’s superb renditions.' Goldberg

Track Listing

Antonio Caldara (c1671-1736)
1. Crucifixus a 16 

Andrea Gabrieli (?1532/3-1585)
2. De profundis 

Claudio Monteverdi (1567-1643)
3. Domine ne in furore tuo 

Francesco Cavalli (1602-1676)
4. Salve Regina 

Giovanni Gabrieli (c1553-1612)
5. Hodie completi sunt 

Orlandus Lassus (c1532-1594)
Missa Bell' Amfritit' altera
6. Kyrie 
7. Gloria
8. Credo 
9. Sanctus 
10. Benedictus 
11. Agnus Dei

Orlandus Lassus
12. Tui sunt coeli 

Antonio Caldara
Stabat Mater
13. Stabat mater dolorosa 
14. Quis est homo, qui non fleret 
15. Sancta mater, istud agas 
16. Fac me tecum pie flere 
17. Virgo virginum praeclara 
18. Fac, ut portem Christi mortem 
19. Flammis ne urar succensus 
20. Christe, cum sit hinc exire 
21. Fac, ut animae donetur