BREXIT: EU / EEA CUSTOMERS – Please see our Terms and Conditions below for important information on EU shipments. PLEASE NOTE: Due to customs changes we can no longer ship to GERMANY.

Victoria: Requiem 1605. Album by The Sixteen

Victoria: Requiem 1605. Album by The Sixteen

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price

Album Description

All of the music from The Choral Pilgrimage 2006.

This recording features the celebrated Requiem of 1605, Victoria's final composition and a work of beguiling beauty and sumptuous simplicity. It can be seen as the summation of both his art and the Spanish Renaissance tradition. The beautiful plainsong on which it is structured can be heard arching through the texture, forming a delicate and sinuous line throughout. Subtly accompanied by a chamber organ and bajón, it is recorded here with the same forces as may well have performed it originally in the Monasterio de las Descalzas Reales. The Requiem is preceded by Marian Antiphons interspersed with three motets setting texts from the Song of Songs.

This disc is available as a CD/SACD hybrid/surround sound (plays in CD players and in SACD players).


The Sixteen
Harry Christophers

Track Listing

Tomás Luis de Victoria (1548-1611)
1. Salve Regina 
2. Ave Regina caelorum a 5 
3. Nigra sum 
4. Quam pulchri sunt
5. Trahe me post te 
6. Ave Regina caelorum a 8 

Officium Defunctorum
7. Taedet animam meam 

Missa Pro Defunctis a 6 (Requiem 1605)
8. Introit 
9. Kyrie 
10. Gradual 
11. Offertory 
12. Sanctus & Benedictus 
13. Agnus Dei I, II & III 
14. Communion 
15. Funeral motet: Versa est in luctum 
16. Responsory: Libera me