BREXIT: EU / EEA CUSTOMERS – Please see our Terms and Conditions below for important information on EU shipments. PLEASE NOTE: Due to customs changes we can no longer ship to GERMANY.

Vivaldi: Gloria, Bach: Mass in G major album cover showing an abstract painting of a night time view of Venice across the lagoon

Vivaldi: Gloria / Bach: Mass in G major. Album by The Sixteen

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price

Album Description

Vivaldi’s Gloria is one of sacred music’s most uplifting choral works and a joyful hymn of praise with moments ranging from festive brilliance to profound sadness. Composed in Venice, probably in 1715, for the choir of the Ospedale della Pietà, its wonderfully sunny nature and distinctive melodies and rhythms give it an immediate and universal appeal. Bach was a fierce admirer of Vivaldi’s work, and his extraordinarily inventive Mass in G major complements the Gloria perfectly.


The Sixteen
Harry Christophers

Track Listing:

J.S. Bach (1685-1750): Mass in G major, BWV 236
1. Kyrie
2. Gloria
3. Gratias
4. Domine Deus
5. Quoniam
6. Cum Sancto Spiritu

George Frederic Handel (1685-1759): Esther, HWV 50 (1718 version)     
7. Overture - Andante and Larghetto
8. Grand Chorus - The Lord our enemy has slain

Antonio Vivaldi (1678-1741): Gloria in D major
9. Gloria in excelsis Deo (Chorus)
10. Et in terra pax hominibus (Chorus)
11. Laudamus te (Soprano I & II)
12. Gratias agimus tibi (Chorus)
13. Propter magnam gloriam (Chorus)
14. Domine Deus (Soprano I)
15. Domine Fili Unigenite (Chorus)
16. Domine Deus, Agnus Dei (Alto & Chorus)
17. Qui tollis peccata mundi  (Chorus)
18. Qui sedes ad dexteram Patris (Alto)
19. Quoniam tu solus Sanctus (Chorus)
20. Cum Sancto Spiritu (Chorus)

Total running time:  70.47  

Tracks 1-6 previously released on COR16120
Tracks 7-8 previously released on COR16019
Tracks 9-20 previously released on COR16042